Knowledge Base

Backup Retention Settings

Overview

By the end of this article you will understand the Backup Retention options CodeGuard offers and how your chosen setting affects storage and automatic cleanup when your account is over quota. 

The section below lists the available retention periods, explains the default setting, and describes how retention interacts with your account quota. To change the setting, open your Account Settings page in CodeGuard and edit Backup Retention.

Description

To change how long CodeGuard stores your backups and to delete old backups from your account navigate to your Account Settings page and edit your Backup Retention settings. There are multiple options to choose from when it comes to Backup Retention; you can choose to either keep 90 days of backup history for all of your websites and databases, keep 60 days30 days14 days, or 7 days of history or keep all of your backup history for all of your websites and databases since they were added to CodeGuard. 
The Account Settings page in CodeGuard, where you set your Backup Retention period and remove old backups. 
Figure 1: The Account Settings page in Code Guard, where you set your Backup Retention period and remove old backups.

 
As of June 2014, most new accounts added to Code Guard have "90 days of backup retention" as their default setting. Plans not purchased directly through Code Guard, and our free plan may have different default retention settings. Please refer to the default-retention support article [insert link] to see your current setting. We recommend having some sort of retention setting applied to your backups (7 days, 14 days30 days60 days, or 90 days) as it will help save space in your account! Code Guard will periodically remove the backups older than your retention period setting. If your account goes over quota, Code Guard will try to automatically delete old backups from your account if your Backup Retention setting is set to one of these options. If you go over quota and would like to keep your entire backup history, then you will need to upgrade your account for more storage space. 
 
If old backups are removed from your account and you are still over your quota, you will need to upgrade to a plan with more storage space or delete a website or database from your account to remain under your quota. 
 
For more information, see the account settingsAccount Settings | Sectigo® Official 

Backup retention options

•  90 days of backup history (the default for most accounts added after June 2014)

•  60 days of backup history

•  30 days of backup history

•  14 days of backup history

•  7 days of backup history

•  Keep all backup history since each website or database was added to Code Guard

Need assistance?

Contact our team for help with your purchase or issuing your certificate.

Live chat

Call us today